Recent Reads – Articles

Students have headed home for the holidays, not to return for three weeks!  As always, I will spend this time in study and preparation for the coming semester.  As part of that study, I may spend a lot of time reading the work of the professors listed as the “Top 40 Blogs by Theology Professors.”

Barna always has their hand on the pulse of American religion, so I appreciate their “Six Megathemes” from their research in 2010.  I plan to spend more time reflecting on this and how it relates to campus ministry.

Ed Stetzer of LifeWay Research also gives us consistently good findings, today on how Americans celebrate Christmas.  His two conclusions are that Christmas is continuing to become more secularized (which is really not that surprising…if I hear Jingle Bell Rock on the radio one more time I might puke) but also that people are more open to the gospel than at other times of year.

It seems the furor over Wikileaks has died down somewhat (or maybe I have just spent less time reading about it).  That said, this is an issue not going away.  Wikileaks’ role in the new media is teaching us lessons (at least seven) about how information is spread and how the media will work in the future.  Some big names, like Daniel Ellsberg and Noam Chomsky, are speaking out in support of Wikileaks in the name of a free press.  However you feel about Wikileaks, it seems the conditions in which Bradley Manning, the soldier accused of leaking the information, is being held are inhumane, especially in a country like ours which often claims the moral high ground in the world.

2 thoughts on “Recent Reads – Articles

  1. Dave,

    Now I know why I had no friends! I was a punk kid… lol. I appreaciate your thoughts, Dave.

    I was one of those kids who grew up not believing in Santa Claus. And I have to tell you that I agree with your reasoning for not telling your kids Santa is real (I know that is what we are teaching our kids). And I had loads of fun before, during, and after Christmas as a kid — yes, even knowing that Santa Claus is not real.

    And in fact, I was one of those punk kids who told other kids Santa was not real, as were my syblings. Knowing how much fun I had at Christmas without Santa, it just makes me wonder how you really “spoil Christmas” by knowing Santa is not real. The mystery at the root of Christmas is the wonderful fact that we can know Christ, not what time or how is Santa coming down the chimney with my gifts. My parents did not tell me to lie, but they did essentially tell me to keep my knowledge to myself — essentially plead the 5th and keep going.

    I will also tell my kids the same. I suppose for those (unfortunately the majority) who do not believe in Jesus or know Him, the only magic left is Santa. And that is so sad to me.

    I am sorry that my response to you probably is seen as bigoted by some and or perhaps cruel by others…Christ is so wonderful to know, to be with…what could be better? I want everyone to know this joy!

Leave a Reply

