What Fiction Should I Watch?

I am sitting here tonight, desiring entertainment.  Thankfully, it is the year 2012 and I have plenty of options.  Emily and I watched the first season of The Walking Dead on Netflix months ago and just last week they finally put up season two.  Should we check in with the story of the survivors of the zombie apocalypse?

We also watched the first three episodes of the fantastic BBC series Sherlock.  The third episode ended in a cliffhanger, and Netflix has season two ready to watch.  Maybe it is time to check in on Watson (aka Bilbo in the upcoming Hobbit film, Martin Freeman) and Sherlock (aka voice of Smaug the dragon in the second or third Hobbit film, Benedict Cumberbatch)?

As always, I have a good many books I am working through, maybe I could dig into one of those for the evening?

Or, I could watch the presidential debate!  I imagine there will be a lot of fiction told there on both sides, lots of promises will be made to inevitably not be kept after the election.  It will be political theater at its finest as both sides recently got back from debate camp and have been working on memorable zingers.

If you want to know what has been feeding my cynicism, check out Dan Carlin’s Common Sense podcast, especially this one where he talks about how neither party will discuss the real reasons for the lack of jobs in America.  He shows how, by not bringing it up, they won’t really be offering any major solutions.

Maybe I will watch the debate, it could be entertaining.  The question is, will it be more like watching Sherlock, watching smart people trying to save the day, or like watching The Walking Dead, with lifeless people wandering the stage?

Leave a Reply

