The Swedish Atheist, the Scuba Diver and Other Apologetic Rabbit Trails (A Review)

I want to start this review off in a very cheesy way, so here we go: If you only read one book on Christian apologetics this year, maybe even in your life, read this one!

Yes, it is that good and I did enjoy it that much.  Come on, just reading the title of the book has you curious, doesn’t it?

There are numerous books out there on Christian apologetics.  These books seek to defend the faith, answering questions in defense and providing positive reasons for the truth of the gospel of Jesus Christ.  I’ve read a good many of these books during my own faith journey.  Like most who grow up in the church, I eventually had questions and I sought answers in books by the likes of Lee Strobel, William Lane Craig, JP Moreland and others.  Through this I found answers, though nothing of the knock-down, full-proof variety.

To this day I still enjoy a good apologetic book.  But as the arguments have become familiar, I read now with a few questions in the back of my mind: would my students at PSU Berks read this?  Would people who may only read a few books a year read this?  Would Christians who are not pastors, who do not read many books, read this?

I think they would read and enjoy Randal Rauser’s book.  It is written as a dialogue between Rauser and a young atheist named Sheridan.  The two go back and forth having many of the usual arguments, though not always in the usual ways.  Rauser is not afraid to show vulnerability in places, admitting where the standard Christian answer is unsatisfying (such as in the case of God’s violence in the Old Testament).  Thankfully the book does not end with Sheridan’s conversion, instead he walks away with a lot to think about, but still an atheist.  Of course, this reflects real life where people are too complex and truth cannot be reduced to a simple formula that once presented will change people’s views quickly.  Instead Rauser sees the Christian apologist as joining others in pursuit of truth.

I read books like this because I am still searching for answers.  I have many beliefs, some I hold to more strongly then others.  Rauser offers us a great way to do apologetics, a way where we do not have to convert or change people, but where we can come alongside of others as we seek truth together.

Check this book out if you are at all interested in truth, apologetics and the like.

Once you finish it, and if you want to read more, I would say to check out The Loser Letters by Mary Eberstadt and then The Reason for God by Tim Keller.

3 thoughts on “The Swedish Atheist, the Scuba Diver and Other Apologetic Rabbit Trails (A Review)

Leave a Reply

