The Silence is Broken, Now What Do We Do?

I want to do all I can to work for justice in the world.

On this blog, I’ve written frequently about the evil of human trafficking.  It is an evil I never heard about growing up.  Over the past years more and more people have become aware of it, which is a good thing.  Ending slavery in the world is a good goal to strive for.

I want to work to end slavery not because it is the cool thing to do right now, but because it is the right thing to do.

I may never have heard about human trafficking growing up, but I did hear about the evil of aborting living babies in the womb.  To this day I continue to be pro-life, believing the unborn have rights that ought to be recognized.

That said, I do not write blog posts about it like I do about human trafficking.

I realize that if I claim to be a follower of Jesus and I claim to care about helping the least of these, the weak and the oppressed, this help cannot be limited to one particular issue or group.  If I care about girls being forced into prostitution who are raped over and over again each night, I need to care for unborn girls.  Likewise, if I care for unborn children my care should not stop when they are born but should flow into care that they receive adequate and affordable health care, good living conditions and so on.

I write this today because a friend of mine asked if I was being silent about the Kermit Gosnell case.  A lot of people, the vast majority of the media, have been silent about it.  This silence motivated the writing of this article, “Philadelphia Abortion Clinic Horror” in the USA Today.  Many of my friends have posted this article on Facebook today.  I found one article,  from Slate titled “Kermit Gosnell: The Alleged Mass-Murderer and the Bored Media,” that was a sort of response, agreeing that the media has been too silent.

It is a horror.  This man should spend the rest of his life behind bars.

I want to do all I can to work for justice in the world…and so often I feel helpless.

Whether it is world poverty, human trafficking, abortion or something else, I feel helpless.  What can I do?  Is there something more I can do than just post a Facebook status or vote once every few years?  Donating money to worthy organizations is good, but almost too easy.

The silence may have been broken, but what do I do now?  Do I continue with my life, feeling a sense of satisfaction that I posted something on social media?  Is that what it means to work for justice in the 21st century? Or is there something more?

4 thoughts on “The Silence is Broken, Now What Do We Do?

  1. I refuse to tell women what to do to their bodies. I also think it’s ridiculous to sit back and make these laws concerning them one way or the other when few of us ( particularly the law makers) are not in the same position as some of these women seeking abortions. Everyone loves to say “If it was me, I’d do xy and z”. Would you though? How do you know? The truth is you don’t, you can’t, and hopefully will never have to make such a decision. The reality is, there are some situations that warrant it. More than I can certainly fathom. What this doctor did however, is atrocious. I think there is no one among us who doesn’t see killing a living, breathing, baby, as wrong.

    1. Thanks for the comment Fred.

      I did not intend to start a full discussion/debate about abortion (Should it ever be permitted? When does life begin? Who ought to choose? Etc.). The key is your last line, with the focus on Gosnell. Or should I say, the lack of focus. I am not usually a conspiracy theorist, but it is interesting that this story has gotten little play in the country. I am sure George Zimmerman’s trial will be huge, national news (and I am not saying it should not be). The question is: is a mostly socially left media holding back reporting for fear of appearing to lend support to the pro-life side? Even pro-choice people should agree that infanticide is wrong.

      1. I agree it is surprising at how little media buzz it has gotten. I really can’t answer whether or not the media is holding anything back. It would not surprise me, but let us remember that what the media doesn’t say speaks volumes more than what it does. Everything any media outlet says should be taken with a grain of salt. It is, after all, a business. A business that often gets funding from the government in some way or another. It therefore stands to reason that, as a news media conglomerate, I’m going show/not show whatever it takes to be in good favor with those who either fund me, or control my laws that govern my business. It’s not about who agrees with media, it’s about who’s funding. Based on the re-election of our current president, I’m going to say the majority is democratic today. So as a media company, what do I follow? The cash. Props to those companies to refuse to report or not report based on that cash and do so independently of the others.

Leave a Reply

