The Beauty of Mornings – Bonhoeffer’s Life Together

For Christians the beginning of the day should not be burdened and haunted by the various kinds of concerns they face during the working day. The Lord stands above the new day, for God has made it. All the darkness and confusion of the night with its dreams gives way to the clear light of Jesus Christ and his awakening Word. All restlessness, all impurity, all worry and anxiety flee before him. Therefore, in the early morning hours of the day may our many thoughts and our many idle words be silent, and may the first thought and the first word belong to the one to whom our whole life belongs (Bonhoeffer, Dietrich (2004-12-08). Life Together and Prayerbook of the Bible: 5 (Kindle Locations 1121-1125). Fortress Press. Kindle Edition.)

I love getting up early in the morning, way before anyone else in the house.  First I let Skip out, then pour a glass of orange juice while I wait for the coffee to brew.  Then I read a bit of the Bible and a few other things.

I think having a kid has made me appreciate mornings more.  If I don’t get up early enough and thus Junia wakes up shortly after me it seems to mess up my whole routine!  Of course, when she was younger this happened pretty frequently.  Now that she is on a normal schedule I know, more or less, when she’ll be up and I take full advantage of those early hours.

Do yourself a favor – get up and enjoy the morning.  Every new day is a gift from our Creator.

 

Leave a Reply

