Slow Cooker Chicken Corn Soup (CSA style, with celery root)

Growing up in Pennsylvania Dutch country, I know what rivels are – they are little dumplings one finds in good, PA Dutch style chicken corn soup.

Yesterday I betrayed my heritage, making chicken corn soup without rivels.

That said, my soup was pretty good.

Our summer CSA has inundated us with corn on the cob.  With so many ears of corn needing to be eaten, I decided to make chicken corn soup.  I perused a number of recipes in cookbooks and online before putting it together.  I decided to use a slow cooker because…its just easier.  The CSA had also given us a celery root on Tuesday, so instead of buying celery I assumed this would be a decent substitution.  I peeled and chopped up the root and tossed it into the soup along with a few of the leaves.  In place of rivels I threw in the remains of a bag of egg noodles we had in our cupboard.

Oh, and I also added a cup of cheddar cheese because…because its cheddar cheese.  Heck, if I had any bacon I would have added that too!

Slow Cooker Chicken Corn Soup (with celery root)

Cut up about 1.5-2 pounds of chicken and place in slow cooker with 4 cups chicken broth (I used 2 cups chicken and 2 cups vegetable broth).

Add one celery root (peeled and chopped), some leaves from the celery root, one onion (chopped), two cloves of garlic and a dash of salt and pepper (not too much, my wife said the soup was salty with only a little bit).

Remove the corn from 5 ears of corn (or more, if you want) and add to slow cooker.

Cook on low for 8 hours.

Add egg noodles in the last half-hour.

Add cheese at the very end.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

