My Top Ten Reads for 2013

My top ten (actually, there are like 20 books listed) reads of 2013, covering a variety of genres, and in no particular order!  Links are either to my review posted on this blog or to the Amazon listing for the book.

1. Celebration of Discipline by Richard Foster

This is one of those books I always wanted to read.  It is a classic and for good reason.  I read it as part of preparation for teaching on spiritual disciplines on campus and it was incredibly helpful.  This is highly recommended for any Christian.

Honorable Mention – The Spirit of the Disciplines by Dallas Willard; Knowing Christ Today by Dallas Willard

2. Jesus Feminist by Sarah Bessey

This book is a joy to read and will move you deeply.  It ought to be read by both men and women!

3. The Civil War as a Theological Crisis by Mark Noll and Was America Founded as a Christian Nation by John Fea

There is a lot of bad history out there.  These two books are the opposite of bad history.  Both tackle topics that people continue to debate today and both do so thoroughly and as near objectively as possible.

4. The Beauty of the Infinite by David Bentley Hart

My brain still hurts just thinking about this book.  Hart is a tough read.  If you want to start, a good entry into Hart’s writings is The Doors of the Sea.

5. Gilead and Home by Marilynne Robinson

Two beautiful, heartbreaking novels.  After you read them move on to one of her books of essays, such as When I was a Child I Read Books.

6. Life Together by Dietrich Bonhoeffer

Another book I should have read years ago.  Best book on Christian community ever.  I actually wrote several blog posts on this book which can be found here.

7. The Children of Hurin

More Tolkien? Yes please.

8. Every Good Endeavor by Tim Keller

One of the best books on Christian vocation and work I’ve read.

9. The End of Apologetics by Myron Penner and The Swedish Atheists, The Scuba Diver and Other Apologetic Rabbit Trails by Randal Rauser

Apologetics have long helped me in my faith, though I have become more skeptical of some shallow arguments Christians use over the years.  Rauser’s book is one of my favorites ever, written in dialogue format and putting good arguments in the mouth of both sides.  Penner’s  book puts into words some of my own questions in regards to apologetics.

10. A Memory of Light – Wheel of Time book 14 by Brandon Sanderson and Robert Jordan

Nerd alert!  Like many, I waited for the final book in this fantasy series for years!  It did not disappoint.

Leave a Reply

